There are other types of specialist protection that can be applied to buildings, structures or landscapes, but may not be specifically historic or heritage based constraints. These are often designated by a wider range of bodies than just the heritage-led ones noted above, and can include:


  • National parks
  • Areas of outstanding natural beauty
  • Conservation areas
  • Areas of special scientific interest
  • Environmentally sensitive areas
  • Tree preservation orders


This protection is largely intended to ensure the form and type of development that can be carried out is appropriate for the site.  Permitted development rights that are enjoyed in non restricted areas are often removed so that even apparently simple aspects of work such as painting the outside of a house may require planning approval.  Farming operations and even gardening activities can be constrained by some of these types of protection. 


In such locations where additional levels of restraint augment or replace the local authority planning control there may be additional policy or guidance procedures that need to be considered before applying to carry out work.


Further information on these subjects can be found in the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) section of the HBAS website.